Fall athletes earn GLIAC academic honors

Fall athletes earn GLIAC academic honors

Lanthorn Staff

Eighty-five Grand Valley State student athletes earned a spot on GLIAC 2014 Fall Sports All-Academic and All-Academic Excellence Teams for their performance in the classroom last semester.

Athletes meeting the required criteria can be on GLIAC All-Academic Teams (3.0-3.49 GPA) or All-Academic Excellence Teams (3.5-4.0 GPA) for each fall sport: men’s and women’s cross country, football, men’s and women’s soccer, women’s tennis and volleyball.

The GVSU men’s cross country team had five All-Academic runners (Bryce Bradley, Joe Cecil, Mowgli Crosby, Greg Madendorp and David Powell) and 10 performers on the Academic Excellence Team (Ethan Barnes, Torben Hoffmeyer, Chris May, Nate Orndorf, Spencer Pageau, Alan Peterson, Josh Steible, Mitch Wilkins and John Luterbach).

On the women’s side, four national champions earned All-Academic honors (Kendra Foley, Kelly Haubert, Hannah Osborn and Taylor Smith) while 11 others made their way on the Academic Excellence Team (Rachel Bendewald, Jordan Chester, Katelyn Cliff, Sarah Cullip, Jessica Janecke, Brianna King, Alex McBride, Natalie Nelson, Madie Rodts and Alison Work).

GVSU’s other championship-winning team, the women’s soccer team, contributed 13 names to the 85-member list: Gabbie Guibord, Katie Klunder, Juane Odendaal, Jenny Shaba, Alyssa Wesley, Katy Woolley were on the All-Academic Team, while Erika Bradfield, Emily Bush, Clare Carlson, Marti Corby, Alexis Mencotti, Maddison Reynolds and Andrea Strauss garnered Academic Excellence plaudits.

The football team was also well represented. Chris Calvano, Nate Cole, De’Ondre Hogan, Brad Horling, Alex Kelly, Parker McInnis, Joe Moran, James Nutter, Robbie Peck, Chris Picano, Michael Ratay, Brandon Revenberg, Joe Robbins, Troy Sassack, Joel Schipper, Kyle Short, Jake Slobin, Jim Walsh and Joe Warner earned a spot on the All-Academic team. Those earning Academic Excellence laurels were Ollie Ajami, Robert Ault, Jeremy Byers, Marco Iaderosa, Nick Keizer, Scott Koenigsknecht, Cody Moore, Heath Parling, Jack Sauber, Collin Schlosser and Evan Schriner.

Kristina Lucas and Morgan Patterson represented the women’s tennis team on the All-Academic Team, while Leah Dancz, Carola Orna, Kali Phillips and Kelly Trapp earned spots on the Academic Excellence Team.

Jessica Majerle of the volleyball team earned a place on the All-Academic Team, while teammates Rachel Dickerson, Nicayla Joyce, Clair Ruhenkamp, Carley Serowoky, Ally Simmons and Josie Werner were on the Academic Excellence Team.